PROFESSIONAL FIDUCIARIES BUREAU

WINTER 2022

Hello friends of the Professional Fiduciaries Bureau!

The start of the year is a great time to reflect on the prior
year's happenings (both good and bad), remember our
gratitude for life’s lucky moments and simple pleasures,
and plan for what's ahead.

At the Bureau, our focus is consumer protection. With
that in mind, we work to increase efficiencies in our
work processes, collaborate and communicate with

our stakeholders, and provide friendly, professional
assistance to the public and our licensees. As the year
winds down, we reflect on our successes and deliberate
on the areas needing improvement. There is always room
for growth, regardless of past accomplishments.

2022 brings several big statutory changes to the
Professional Fiduciaries Act. | highly recommend the
Bureau's licensees review the Legislative Update on
page 5 to determine how these changes will affect their
business practices.

As always, please do not hesitate to email the Bureau at
fiduciary@dca.ca.gov if we may be of service to you.
May 2022 bring you abundant joy and prosperity.

Sincerely,

Rebecca May, Bureau Chief
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Angela Cuadra is the Professional Fiduciaries Bureau’s resident expert when it comes to the Bureau’s
functions. If you have a question regarding applications, licensing, licensing renewals, complaints,
enforcement, or any other questions related to the bureau, please email fiduciary@dca.ca.gov with the
phrase ASK ANGIE in the subject line. Questions will be answered directly and, if the question is popular,
the answer will be published in our next e-newsletter. Please note that we cannot provide legal advice. Here
are some commonly asked questions.

Consumers

How can | find out if an individual is licensed
as a professional fiduciary?

You can verify a license online by clicking
“License Verification” on the Bureau's website
or by calling our office at (916) 574-7340.

How do | file a complaint against a licensed
professional fiduciary?

To file a complaint against a licensed California
professional fiduciary, fill out a complaint form and
either mail, emalil, or fax it to the Bureau. You can
also file a complaint online via the Department of
Consumer Affairs’ website.

Applicants

Can you explain the license application
process?

There are three main steps to the licensure
process. There is an application and background
check with the Bureau, an application and
background process with the Center for
Guardianship Certification (CGC)—the provider
of the fiduciary examination—and a registration
and appointment process with Psychological
Services Incorporated (PSI), which administers
the examination. The examination is offered
throughout California at PSI testing centers.
Applicants who meet experience and/or
education requirements, pass a background
check, pass the examination, and pay fees will
receive a professional fiduciary license.

Why is my initial license fee prorated?

Pursuant to California Code of Regulations
(CCR) section 4428, an initial license shall
expire at midnight on the last day of the month
in which the second anniversary of the licensee’s
birthday occurs after the issuance of the license,
and no license shall be issued for less than

12 months or more than 24 months. Prorated
fees are calculated pursuant to CCR 4580,
subdivision (b).

How long is my license valid?

Your license is valid for one year and expires
on the last day of your birth month (except an
initial license which may be up to 24 months).
Licenses are renewed annually.

What are the requirements for a California
professional fiduciary once licensed?

Licensed professional fiduciaries must abide by
the Professional Fiduciary Act, California Code
of Regulations, and other laws governing the
profession. Some of the requirements include:

» Keep complete and accurate records of
client accounts and shall make those records
available for audit by the Bureau.

* File an Initial Annual Statement with the
Bureau within 60 days of the issuance of a
license.

+ File an Annual Statement at least 60 days
prior to the expiration of the license as a
condition of license renewal each year.

+ Complete 15 hours of approved continuing

education courses each year.
(continued on page 3)
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(continued from page 2)

Q

Can my Initial Annual Statement be sent by
fax or email?

Yes, your initial annual statement can be sent

to the Bureau by fax to (916) 574-8645 or by
email to PFBRenewals@dca.ca.gov. All emailed
statements will receive a confirmation of receipt
by email. If you submit your statement by email or
fax, please do not send a duplicate copy by mail.

LICENSEES
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What is the process for renewing my license?

Licenses are renewed on an annual basis. In
order to renew your license, you must submit

a complete Annual Statement 60 days prior

to the date your license expires, pay the

license renewal fee, and provide verification of
completion of continuing education requirements.
A license renewal notice will be mailed to you
approximately 60 days prior to the expiration of
your license. This form will need to be completed
and returned with your renewal payment.
Postmarking your renewal payment on or before
the date your license expires only means you
avoid having to pay the delinquent fee ($150);
however, your license will expire if renewal items
are not received and processed prior to the
license expiration date. The Annual Statement
is a separate form and will not be mailed to you.

Can my Annual Statement be sent by fax or
email?

Yes, your Annual Statement can be sent to the
Bureau by fax to (916) 574-8645 or by email

to PFBRenewals@dca.ca.gov. All emailed
statements will receive a confirmation of receipt
by email. If you submit your statement by email or
fax, please do not send a duplicate copy by mail.
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Which client cases should | report to the
Bureau when renewing my license?

When submitting your Annual Statement for
renewal, report only the cases you opened

or closed since the date of your last Annual
Statement. This includes all court-appointed
and private-party conservatorship, guardianship,
trust, durable power of attorney, and personal
representative of a decedent'’s estate cases.
Please be sure to include the date of open or
closure in the format requested on the form.

What if | do not receive a license renewal
notice?

If you do not receive a license renewal notice,
please complete this form and mail it to the
Bureau with your $700 renewal fee. The Annual
Statement, which is due 60 days prior to your
expiration, is a separate form and will not be
mailed to you.

How long does it take the Bureau to process
my renewal once it is received?

It takes approximately four to six weeks from the
date of receipt to process your renewal package,
provided it is complete. It is important that you
submit your Annual Statement by email, fax, or
mail at least 60 days prior to your expiration date
and your license renewal notice with payment to
ensure that your renewal can be processed prior
to the date your license expires. Renewals are
processed in the order they are received. If any
part of the renewal documents is not received on
time, your license may not be renewed prior to its
expiration date.

(continued on page 4) 3
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(continued from page 3)

How many hours of continuing education
do | need for renewal and where do | find
continuing education providers?

Pursuant to California Code of Regulations

(CCR) section 4442, licensees must complete

a minimum 15 hours of continuing education
including two hours in ethics during the annual
renewal period. Starting January 1, 2023, licenses
shall be required to complete at least two hours
of instruction in ethics, two hours of instruction in
cultural competency, or two hours of instruction in
both ethics and cultural competency every year.
You can find approved education providers and
courses on our website by clicking “Education” at
the top right of the homepage.

What happens if | am short on continuing
education hours for my annual renewal?

Your license will not be renewed until all
requirements, including continuing education,
stated in Business and Professions Code (BPC)
section 6541 are completed.

How long do | need to keep proof/
documentation of my completed continuing
education?

According to California Code of Regulations
(CCR) section 4452, subdivision (b), “A licensee
shall maintain documentation of completion of
continuing education courses for a period of at
least three years from the date of renewal’ The
Bureau conducts periodic continuing education
audits.

| understand my continuing education
requirements were waived as a result of the
pandemic. Can you tell me more?

In response to the COVID-19 State of
Emergency, and pursuant to the Governor's
Executive Order N-39-20, the director of the
Department of Consumer Affairs temporarily
waived continuing education requirements.
However, with California’s economy reopening,
students returning to the classroom, and overall
improved conditions in the state, the Bureau

has been informed by the Department that the
continuing education waiver has ended as of
October 31, 2021. Licensees are required to fulfill
their continuing education requirements within six
months of the end of the waiver.

What happens if the Bureau selects me for a
continuing education audit?

According to CCR section 4452, subdivision

(c), “Each licensee shall provide any information
requested by the Bureau within 10 business days
of the request, to determine compliance with the
continuing education requirements for license
renewal’

Can | have a copy of the complaint that was
filed against me?

No. Complaint and investigative records
conducted by state agencies are exempt from
disclosure under the California Public Records
Act, pursuant to Government Code section 6254,
subdivision (f).

I’'ve moved. Do | need to let the Bureau know?

Yes. Licensees are required to notify the Bureau
of any change to address or phone number within
15 business days, pursuant to CCR section 4544.
The Bureau has a form you may use to do so.
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S| LEGISLATIVE UPDATE

The following bills were signed into law in 2021 and
may be of interest to our licensees and consumers.
Unless otherwise noted, these bills become effective
January 1, 2022. Additional information regarding these
bills, including full text and policy committee analyses,
can be found at www.leginfo.legislature.ca.gov.

AB 260 (Chapter 578, Statutes of 2021) requires the
court to have good cause to waive a local child welfare
services agency investigation and would prohibit the
guardianship proceedings from being completed until
the investigation is completed and a report is provided
to the juvenile court. Second, this bill requires the state-
funded Kinship Guardianship Assistance Payment
Program (Kin-GAP) aid to be provided on behalf of any
child under 18 years of age and to any eligible youth
under 21 years of age who has kinship guardianship
established. This bill also eliminates existing law
requirements to receive Kin-GAP aid.

AB 465 (Chapter 167, Statutes of 2021) requires
professional fiduciary licensees, beginning January

1, 2023 as part of their renewal or restoration of a
license, to complete at least two hours of instruction in
ethics, cultural competency, or both, on an annual basis.

REGULATORY UPDATE

In addition, beginning January 1, 2023, new licensees
must complete at least one hour of instruction in cultural
competency as part of their initial 30 hours of education
required for licensure.

AB 1194 (Chapter 417, Statutes of 2021) requires: (1)
a professional fiduciary with an internet website to post
a schedule of fees on their website, or to provide a fee
schedule before contracting for their services or upon
request by January 1, 2023; (2) a licensed professional
fiduciary to be liable for a civil penalty up to $10,000

if the court finds the professional fiduciary abused a
conservatee; (3) the Judicial Council, by January 1,
2024, to report to the Legislature its findings measuring
court effectiveness in conservatorship cases; and (4) the
Bureau to investigate specified allegations and impose
sanctions or revoke an individual's license, as appropriate.
This bill also prohibits a guardian or trustee or an
employee of the guardian or conservator to hire or refer
business to an entity where they have a financial interest.

SB 607 (Chapter 367, Statutes of 2021) extends the
Professional Fiduciaries Bureau's sunset date to January
1,2024.

SB 826 (Chapter 188, Statutes of 2021) makes
technical, clarifying changes to the work experience
requirements required for licensure by the Professional
Fiduciaries Bureau.

The Bureau is pleased to announce that the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) approved the Bureau's regulatory change,
without regulatory effect, updating the Bureau's address. The text of the new regulation is located on the Bureau's website by

clicking on Laws/Regs.

The Bureau is currently promulgating regulations to establish retired and inactive license types. The final rulemaking package
was submitted to OAL on December 29, 2021, and is pending approval. The proposed text and supporting documentation
establishing why this regulatory change is needed is located on the Bureau's homepage under “What's Happening!

The Bureau has also decided to withdraw from OAL its proposed regulation establishing standards by which licensees notify
their clients that they are licensed by the Bureau. The Bureau received and considered the many thoughtful comments

it received during the public comment period and is working with the Department of Consumer Affairs to determine its

next steps related to this proposed regulation. The notice to withdraw this proposed regulation is located on the Bureau’s

homepage under “What's Happening’

If you would like to receive updates regarding proposed regulatory changes as soon as they occur, you are encouraged to
sign up for the Bureau’s interested parties list by visiting the Bureau's website and clicking on Join Our Mailing List.
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CONTINUING EDUGATION
WAIVER ENDS

With California’s economy reopening, students
returning to the classroom, and overall improved
conditions in the state, the Bureau has been
informed by the Department of Consumer
Affairs (DCA) that its remaining active law
waivers that were put in place due to the
COVID-19 State of Emergency have ended

as of October 31, 2021. The Bureau and DCA
thank you for your continued dedication to
serving California consumers. A link to the
Bureau’s COVID-19 waivers and their expiration
dates can be found on DCA’s website.

NEW MAILING ADDRESS

The Professional Fiduciaries Bureau closed its post
office box effective July 1, 2021. Please mail all
correspondence to:

Professional Fiduciaries Bureau
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S-209
Sacramento, CA 95834

If you would like confirmation that your
correspondence was
received, please use a

mail system that allows for
tracking and delivery receipt.
In lieu of mailing your initial
and annual statements, you
may submit by email to:
PFBRenwals@dca.ca.gov
or by fax to: (916) 574-8645.

QUICKER SUBMISSION OF INITIAL AND ANNUAL STATEMENTS

The Professional Fiduciaries Bureau is always looking for ways to decrease processing times, make the renewal
process more convenient, and reduce its paper usage when possible! There are three ways to submit Initial and

Annual Statements to the Bureau:

* By mail—1625 North Market Blvd, Suite S-209, Sacramento, CA 95834
The Bureau is unable to provide confirmation of mail receipt. If you would like confirmation of receipt, please
use a mail service that provides you a method of tracking and confirmation of delivery.

» By email-PFBRenewals@dca.ca.gov

Emailed Initial and Annual Statements will be sent a confirmation message of receipt.

* By fax—(916) 574-8645

The Bureau is unable to provide confirmation of fax receipt. If you would like a confirmation that your fax was
received, please ensure your fax machine is set up to provide you a confirmation of delivery.
Please do not send duplicate copies of your statement(s) as this slows the processing time for Bureau staff.
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CALLING ALL EXPERTS!

The Professional Fiduciaries Bureau established its
expert consultant program in 2011 as an impartial
and professional way to support the investigation and
enforcement functions of the bureau.

Expert consultants provide expert reviews and opinions
on complex complaints received by the Bureau.

To be an expert consultant for the Bureau, you must
meet the following minimum criteria:

1. Possess a current California professional fiduciary
license in good standing for the previous five years.

2. Have no prior or pending administrative or
disciplinary actions.

ANNUAL STATEMENT

Every year like clockwork, licensees are
required to submit their Annual Statement
at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of
their license. This important requirement is a
condition of licensure pursuant to Business
and Professions Code section 6562.

Licenses will not be renewed unless an
updated and complete Annual Statement is
on file. Further, licensees who do not send in
their Annual Statement on time risk practicing
with an expired license and may be subject to
administrative or enforcement actions.

Need help filling out your Annual Statement?
Visit our website at www.fiduciary.ca.gov for
a helpful tutorial video. You are also welcome
to call us at (916) 574-7340 or email us at
fiduciary@dca.ca.gov.

3. Have an active fiduciary practice with a current
case load with at least three clients during your
career as a licensed professional fiduciary.

4. Possess in-depth knowledge of fiduciary work
(trusts, conservatorships, durable power of attorney,
and/or guardianships) and the professional
fiduciary industry’s best practices.

The Bureau has set the reimbursement rate for
fiduciaries conducting case reviews and report writing
at $75 per hour and $90 per hour for providing expert
testimony at an Administrative Hearing.

If you have any questions, please email
fiduciary@dca.ca.gov.
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SEND US YOUR FEEDBACK

We hope you find The PFB Update useful. The Bureau
welcomes your comments and suggestions for future
issues. You can contact us by phone at (916) 574-7340
or by email at fiduciary@dca.ca.gov. Click here to find
previous online copies of The PFB Update.

Please share this newsletter with your colleagues and let
them know they can sign up to receive a copy by joining

the Bureau's interested party list. Click here to subscribe.
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BUREAU ACTIONS EXPLANATION OF LANGUAGE

Accusation
A formal, written statement of charges filed against
a licensee.

Citation and Fine
Licensee is issued a citation and required to pay a
fine commensurate with the violation committed.

Default Decision
Licensee fails to respond to an accusation by
filing a notice of defense or fails to appear at an

administrative hearing.

Effective Decision Date
The date the disciplinary decision/order goes
into operation.

Letter of Public Reprimand
A formal reprimand issued by the Bureau, which
could be in lieu of filing a formal accusation.

Revoked
The license is voided and the right to practice
has ended.

Revoked, Stayed, Probation

“Stayed” means the revocation is postponed, put off.
Professional practice may continue as long as the
licensee complies with specified probationary terms
and conditions. Violation of probation may result in the
revocation that was postponed by the stay.

Statement of Issues
Charges filed against an applicant to deny licensure due
to alleged violations of the Professional Fiduciaries Act.

Stipulated Settlement
The case is negotiated and settled prior to hearing.

Surrender of License
While charges are still pending, the licensee agrees to
turn in the license—subject to acceptance by PFB.

Writ
An appeal filed by the licensee in Superior Court asking
the court to overturn PFB'’s decision.
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2021 ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS

Michael Cunningham 428 Surrender 1/4/2021

Gloria Garcia-Ortiz 539 Citation Status: Citation Satisfied 4/30/2021
Sally Cicerone 164 Surrender 112112021
Donna Bogdanovich 512 Stipulated Settlement 9/24/2021
Debra Rose 796 Stipulated Settlement 9/24/201
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IMPORTANT BUREAU UPDATES
AND HOW TO RECEIVE THEM
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The Bureau is now on Facebook and Twitter! Follow
the Bureau by clicking on the following icons or going
to the specified link:

www.facebook.com/
CaliforniaProfessionalFiduciariesBureau

Additionally, if you would like
to receive notifications from
the Bureau about upcoming
events, new regulations, and
Advisory Committee meetings,
please sign up to receive email
notifications from the Bureau
at the following link:

y https://twitter.com/FiduciaryBureau www.dca.ca.gov/webapps/
fiduciary/subscribe.php

OUR OFFIGE WILL BE CLOSED ON THE ADVISORY GOMMITTEE MEMBERS
FOLLOWING HOLIDAYS IN 2022: Chi K. Elder, chair, public member

Bertha Sanchez-Hayden, vice chair, nonprofit organization
MARTIN LUTHER KING DAY~ MONDAY, JANUARY 17 advocating on behalf of the elderly
PRESIDENTS DAY MONDAY, FEBRUARY 21 Wendy Hatch, licensee
CESAR CHAVEZ DAY THURSDAY, MARCH 31 James Moore, licerisee
MEMORIAL DAY MONDAY, MAY 30 . .
INDEPENDENCE DAY MONDAY, JULY 4 Desise Neleser, pubiic member
LABOR DAY MONDAY, SEPTENBER 5 5:::::t:cl:[.]slz:lkawa, probate court investigator
VETERANS DAY FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 11 ’
THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY THURSDAY AND FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 24-25
CHRISTMAS (0BSERVED) MONDAY, DECEMBER 26 PER STAFE

Rebecca May, bureau chief
ADVISORY COMMITTEE 2022 MEETING DATES: Angela Cuadra, program analyst

Sue Lo, enforcement analyst
MARCHS | JUNE22 | SEPTEMBER14 | DECEMBERT

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
—— e

LOCATION CONTACT
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S-209 Phone: (916) 574-7340
Sacramento, CA 95834 Fax: (916) 574-8645

PROFESSIONAL FIDUCIARIES RUREAL Email: fiduciary@dca.ca.gov

10 PDE_21-318
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